runthings

mundane adventures in running

Do I don’t I?

I turn forty next year. Next May. I have given up on most of my earlier pre forty bucket list. Becoming fluent in a foreign language, learning Kung fu, displaying proficiency in cryptic crossword puzzles, playing the guitar have all been struck off. One remains: to run an ultra marathon.

It’s stupid and vain. It’s just silly to challenge myself. Selfish to promise so much time to the endeavour. There’s a fake romanticism about it. The journey, the trial, the challenge is entirely arbitrary. So it’s a false thing, a made up thing. There’s too much consent and premeditation for it to feel real. No amount of travail, of mud, of heroism will take away from the fact that any race I do will be in spitting distance of a motorway service station, scaring dog walkers in the woods, with other middle age men having crises of ageing, with the same power gels, fifty quid race belts and compression tights. It’s quixotic; I’m tilting at windmills. I’m pretending it’s a quest or a trial, and it’s just a silly conceit.

I’ve found the race which i could do, at least in theory. It’s about 100km,  a bumpy path across the north and south downs. I’ve just enough time to train. I could do it.

So shall I? should I puff my chest out and pretend I can’t see how ludicrous I’m being? Do I sign up? Do I do it? do I strike another thing of that list of things?

3 comments on “Do I don’t I?

  1. Suzanne
    17/02/2015

    Do it for God’s sake. You know you want to. And other such cliches.

  2. shinyshep
    17/02/2015

    Do it you crazy bastard. Shep will try and fix you.

    x

    Claire Sheppard

    The Field, 33 Hawkslade Road,

    London SE15 3DQ

    020 7635 2782 / 07799 815 712

    http://www.thefield-uk.com

    the filed-logo-yellow-WEB-SMALLpng – Copy

    ==================================================================== This email and any files transmitted with it are confidential and intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to whom they are addressed. If you have received this email in error you are on notice of its status. Please notify us immediately by return email if you are not the intended recipient and delete this message. Please note that any views or opinions presented in this email are solely those of the author and do not necessarily represent those of the LLP

  3. shinyshep
    17/02/2015

    Do it, Shep will try and fix you after.

    x

    Claire Sheppard

    The Field, 33 Hawkslade Road,

    London SE15 3DQ

    020 7635 2782 / 07799 815 712

    http://www.thefield-uk.com

    the filed-logo-yellow-WEB-SMALLpng – Copy

    ==================================================================== This email and any files transmitted with it are confidential and intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to whom they are addressed. If you have received this email in error you are on notice of its status. Please notify us immediately by return email if you are not the intended recipient and delete this message. Please note that any views or opinions presented in this email are solely those of the author and do not necessarily represent those of the LLP

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 17/02/2015 by in Thinking about running and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 44 other followers

